Sunpro Super Tach II Installed! (With Pictures) - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Sunpro Super Tach II Installed! (With Pictures)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2009, 02:45 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xXbrutalXcoreXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 184
Sunpro Super Tach II Installed! (With Pictures)

I have an 87 PU with just the basic dash cluster (speed, temp, gas) and decided to install this tach. It was very easy to install and works wonderfully. Plus, it was only $25 with free shipping from Amazon. =] What do you guys think?
(sorry for the crappy cell phone pic)
xXbrutalXcoreXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 02:46 PM   #2
Registered User
 
1989toy4wd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Posts: 1,028
Nice, I got the same one, I mounted mine on the steering column though!! I think I want to move it to the A-pillar though!!
1989toy4wd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 04:32 PM   #3
Licensed Lunatic
 
iamsuperbleeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake City, Fl
Posts: 12,244
there good tach's; I ran one for quite some time, mounted up on the pillar

I got a deal on another tach, so I upgraded now there's a 5" Autometer in the center of my dash, shift light and all, blocking my view...

necessary, no; freek'n sweet, hellz yes


I installed my tach like that for the same reasons though; it works perfect and it's not overly elaborate, can be pretty easily tucked away cause of it's size, and it's cheap
iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 05:02 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Beaniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tabernacle, NJ
Posts: 535
same here, they're good cheap tachs
Beaniam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:06 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 596
im jealous, i need one
xzyragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 11:04 PM   #6
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
space-junk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilton, CA
Posts: 4,580
aaaah... us SR5 guys get all the perks with not needing to install vision blocking tachs...
space-junk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 08:26 AM   #7
Licensed Lunatic
 
iamsuperbleeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake City, Fl
Posts: 12,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by space-junk View Post
aaaah... us SR5 guys get all the perks with not needing to install vision blocking tachs...
psh... SR5 is overated... I don't my ego is just fine withough "SR5" stuck to the back of my truck
iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 02:48 PM   #8
Registered User
 
turborich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 296
The SR5 swap is the only way to go IMO. I did it, everything works & looks stock. Any Tach is better than no tach though!
turborich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 03:01 PM   #9
Registered User
 
poynter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somerset, KY
Posts: 272
Mines a DLX and it has the tach in the cluster.
poynter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 03:13 PM   #10
Registered User
 
toyota4x4907's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: middle of no where Alaska
Posts: 4,355
nice little tach.

Quote:
Originally Posted by poynter View Post
Mines a DLX and it has the tach in the cluster.
Yup yup. tachs were an option for DLX. My '93 DLX had a tach in the dash
toyota4x4907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 06:59 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
where did you hook up the green wire? And do you have pics of the connection?
RUNNER85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:15 PM   #12
Licensed Lunatic
 
iamsuperbleeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lake City, Fl
Posts: 12,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUNNER85 View Post
where did you hook up the green wire? And do you have pics of the connection?
the "-" negative terminal on the ignition coil; actually an 85 has a different coil than my 91 if I'm not mistaken, and I think there's a plug with one wire that's just for the tach



and you know what's funny about this thread coming up again, is that since the last time I posted in it, I went from this:











to this







and even made a write-up on the process too
http://www.yotatech.com/f116/sr5-gau...w-pics-179106/


iamsuperbleeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flying91's 1991 4runner LOWEST SAS 30" tires Flying91 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 20 07-24-2016 09:11 AM
RedRunner_87's aka "Operation Mall Crawler" Build Thread RedRunner_87 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 44 06-11-2016 06:21 PM
Trail Gear 3'' or 4'' SAS kit picture request XtraCab Solid Axle Swaps, All Years 12 11-12-2015 06:58 PM
Wiring help toyotamonster 3.4 Swaps 2 07-08-2015 09:17 AM
1985 22re a/c install help bryan34w 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 0 07-06-2015 05:53 PM


Tags
111, 22re, 93, hook, hookup, ii, instalation, install, installing, pickup, pro, sunpro, super, tach, tachometer, toyota, wire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:41 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.