Sticking throttle cable? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Sticking throttle cable?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2009, 02:18 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
Sticking throttle cable?

Hey guys,
i got my truck home earlier today and the throttle was sticking so I sprayed wd40 on it and it didn't work, I then proceeded to unscrew it and when i screwed it back in after adjusting it its waaaay worse it starts shooting up to around 3000 rpm and would keep going if I didn't shut it off, please help me know how to fix this, as I know you all know how.
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:22 PM   #2
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
bump please
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:24 PM   #3
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,715
Was the cable sticking or the throttle shaft?
what did you adjust?
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:32 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
All I did was unscrew the piece where the cable (don't recall what it is called) meets the metal piece near the idle screw (when you turn the piece it throttles the truck) and now the RPM's are shooting up like a rocket.
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:45 PM   #5
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
bumpity bumpity
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:53 PM   #6
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,715
there's a bracket that holds the throttle cable and the cable has a nut on each side of the bracket.
is that what you're talking about?
if so, if you remove the cable does it idle properly?
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:01 PM   #7
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
exactly, I don't wanna go out right now, its kinda dark and freezing out, But say it did start to idle normally what would i do, and if it didn't?
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:08 PM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
Bump please, gotta have this truck running normal by friday.
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:16 PM   #9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
cmon guys
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:24 PM   #10
Registered User
 
91Toyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 2,805
If you remove it and its idling fine then that needs to be adjusted. Its pulling back on the throttle.
91Toyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:25 PM   #11
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,715
don't mean to sound rude but bumping your post every 8 minutes is aggravating at best and down-right pisses people off at worse.

do you have pics? if so you can get a photobucket account to host the pics or if it's that big of a deal I can host the pics for you.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:28 PM   #12
Contributing Member
 
Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stgen4gunner View Post
cmon guys
Don't get pushy man, give them time to get on here and read through all the posts - they'll make it to ya, just give it time.

I'm going to rename your thread title, too - it's very vague and doesn't describe what's going on.
A properly titled thread can help a lot, it helps direct people to certain topics.

Get some pics of what you're talking about so these guys can help you and go from there.

Fink
Fink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:06 PM   #13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
Ok yer right sorry guys, it's just that I need this truck to run normally by early Friday morning because i am going on a little trip for the day, and wish I could get pics but I am poor and don't have a camera (barely know how to use this computer, lol), I am also starting another job on Saturday and need it working by then too. Its kinda freaking me out I guess because I am always able to fix any problem I have with my trucks. I hate being in the black when it comes to my truck, and the stupid thing is, is that it's probably the most simple thing in the world, I can name almost every part and know what it does on the entire engine, as well as rebuild the engine (rebuilt my friends), but for some reason am completely in the dark about the throttle, I remember taking it apart and putting it back together before but for some reason can't remember how I did it. So I will ask the question again, in a civilized manner and await your guys most helpful responses.
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:13 PM   #14
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,715
well... throttle cable come into the bracket....
there's a nut on one side of the cable sleeve, and another nut on the other side of the cable sleeve. both nuts allow you to adjust "how much" of the cable is allowed past the bracket like how the brakes work on a ten-speed bike.

If the idle is high, you could turn the nut on the throttle body side down so the cable doesn't pull on the throttle as hard and turn the nut on the opposite side of the bracket in to lock the adjustment down.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:15 PM   #15
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
Question- I need to know why my trucks RPM's are shooting up after I disconnected the throttle cable bracket (at least thats what I believe its called, it turns when you push on the gas pedal) I put it back on because I was originally trying to stop the bracket from sticking, I think now it may just have been the cable (duh) and now it is much worse after I put it back on, I await your educated and most helpful responses.
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:20 PM   #16
Registered User
 
myyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: GrangeVille, Idaho
Posts: 4,166
It sounds like you have a bad throttle cable, they can fray inside the cable housing causing it to stick, i had this same problem on my 86 4Runner, i replaced the throttle cable and all was good again.
myyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:31 PM   #17
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
I was just thinking about it very hard (I'm not exactly a wiz kid so his is hard thinking for me) and decided abcendarian is probably right. But thanks to everybody who posted to help me, I hate when folks do the bump thing too, so I'm sorry, won't happen again.

Thanks,
Dave
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 08:21 PM   #18
Contributing Member
 
Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stgen4gunner View Post
I was just thinking about it very hard (I'm not exactly a wiz kid so his is hard thinking for me) and decided abcendarian is probably right. But thanks to everybody who posted to help me, I hate when folks do the bump thing too, so I'm sorry, won't happen again.

Thanks,
Dave
So did you get it solved?

Fink
Fink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 04:53 AM   #19
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
1stgen4gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 809
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4Fink View Post
So did you get it solved?

Fink
Not yet, I get home from school at around 3 o'clock and work on it then, I'll keep you guys updated.
1stgen4gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 04:59 AM   #20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern Colorado :-(
Posts: 1,758
Should be easy to fix. The two nuts you looseneed to get the cable off of the metal bracket just need to be adjusted. Sounds like they're too tight, and you need to pull them out more towards the rear of the engine.
DupermanDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1987 toyota 22r weber throttle linkage kazuya2416 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 5 09-04-2016 01:53 PM
Hey all! SolarImages Newbie Tech Section 6 08-30-2015 09:28 AM
1990 toyo issues SolarImages 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2 08-17-2015 10:28 AM
96 3.4, very high idle no vacuum leaks I can find greenbuggy 3.4 Swaps 4 07-23-2015 11:51 AM
Performance tuner rbh261 2010+ 4Runner 0 07-13-2015 12:04 PM


Tags
1990, 3vze, 4runner, adjusting, alaska, anchorage, bad, cable, cables, custom, pickup, sticking, tacoma, throttle, toyota, truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:59 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.