Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Starting up 88 EFI fuel system 'prerequisites' ?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2013, 08:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Starting up 88 EFI fuel system 'prerequisites' ?

First I apologize for not finding this in the search first but I wasn't able to formulate the correct question it seems.

I do have the FSM and am about to give the diagnostics a shot but I still have a few posts to go before I hit the magic #15 so here goes...
I picked up this 47K mile 88 efi PU project and it was minus the fuel tank. Picked one up at the local yard and hooked it up but as I'm still 'bedless' there is no fill tube connected, return vapor line or gas cap. Is that something I'll need to have in place first?
I'm new to FI systems and miss the 'look in the bowl and see if there's gas' of a carb... but I can change, if I have to.... I guess.
So My question becomes what ducks do I need to line up in order to get fuel from the gas tank to the spark plugs or to put it another way, do I need to prime/bleed the system ?
Also, is there a difference in fuel relays? I have one from the donor rig and the original. 2 different part#'s.
I don't hear a fuel pump when I turn the ign on. Engine cranks fine.

Thanks
Old 09-17-2013, 08:48 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
When you turn the key to "start", the circuit opening relay (COR) should close and give the fuel pump power. This means it may take a moment before sufficient fuel pressure is built up and the engine can run. Once the engine starts and you release the key to "run", contacts in the air-flow meter will keep the "COR" on.

If you find you have to crank several seconds before the engine starts EVERY time you try to start it, I'd suggest checking the fuel pump, fuel pressure regulator and maybe even the injectors for leakage, in particular the cold start injector.