86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Starter or Solenoid?

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2015, 07:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Starter or Solenoid?

I went out to start my 4 runner this morning, I like to let it run for a few minutes before I drive anywhere, and I turned the key and got a "click". Just one, not the stuttering clicks or any grinding. Haaaaaaalp!!!!

So here is my dilemma, I absolutely LOVE digging into my baby to work on it. I want to do this myself, but I don't know how to tell if it's the starter or the solenoid! I'm a sucker for the dirt, grime and grease - but I'm relatively new to it. (I usually just stick to working on my 4 wheeler because it's smaller scale and the parts are cheap.) I don't want to tear into something I don't know anything about and end up making things worse. If I can save any money doing this myself I would like to, I gotta be cheap with the hunting season starting. I have to make sure I have enough moolah to pay for pretty much the whole month of October. Licenses aren't too bad, but gas, ammo, and food adds up fast!

I priced out a new starter at about $65-$75 but there is a rebuild kit available. Is it an intense process to rebuild one? Is it really worth it? Or am I better off just buying a new one? I also have the option to take it to an electrical parts shop and have them take a look at it I suppose, but it's about an hour drive from where I live. If I'm better off just replacing the part it's self then I don't want to drive that far.

I know that y'all are awesome, and there is a wealth of knowledge on these forums as well as a lot of experience! I hope you can give me some pointers and educate me a bit so that I'm not such a noob and I can dig into these things with a bit more confidence in what I'm doing. LOL
Old 09-10-2015, 08:36 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts