YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2013, 12:25 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Independence, KS
Posts: 37
SR5 Tach not working

Alright folks i have an 86 22r that I just recently bought an SR5 cluster for and installed. Everything seems to work fine with the exception of the tach. Which doesnt work at all. The other odd thing is the temp gauge goes to about the middle positon when started, as the truck warms up it will drop down to the bottom and come up to just under half way. On the old cluster the temp gauge barely moved off the cold line at temp. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
heavyd1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 01:44 PM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Discombobulated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,580
DISCOMBOBULATED
Search a bit on the sr5 cluster swap, multiple threads with plenty of info on the topic, as far as the tach goes some trucks had the tach wire some did not and it needs to be added
__________________
I have OCD, no big deal:)
Discombobulated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 03:14 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Independence, KS
Posts: 37
Well I have done searches and looked at server all threads that have mentioned having to run a wire but I haven't had any luck actually finding any details on which or where to run one. Thanks for the quick response!
heavyd1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:06 PM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 75
I think its the IG terminal in the diagnostic connector under the hood. Need to check a wiring diagram.
hambob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 01:50 PM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Independence, KS
Posts: 37
alright! were might I find one of these wiring diagrams?
heavyd1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 02:49 PM   #6
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Discombobulated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,580
DISCOMBOBULATED
http://www.yotatech.com/search.php?searchid=9954781

Try this one too,

http://www.yotatech.com/f116/doing-s...r-swap-140660/
__________________
I have OCD, no big deal:)

Last edited by Discombobulated; 07-25-2013 at 02:51 PM.
Discombobulated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:02 PM   #7
Super Moderator
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
Staff
 
Terrys87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Anderson Missouri
Posts: 7,678
Might try this for the temp guage>>> http://www.yotatech.com/f116/definit...ge-fix-271152/


Copied...
This truck didnt come with the SR5 guage so I added it. If your truck is not Plug and Play like some are, you need to run a wire from the negative side of the coil to the little "p" to make the tach work.
Click the image to open in full size.

Then what I did so as not to short out the electrical run beside it. I placed a piece of electrical tape over the little "p" and crimped a wire to the smallest connector that I could find.
Click the image to open in full size.

Coming off of the negitive side of coil.
I then ran a wire to the negative side of the coil, on a carburator coil it is a little different then a standard coil you are most used to seeing. This is a temporary connection til I can come up with a better connection for it later on.
Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by Terrys87; 07-25-2013 at 03:12 PM.
Terrys87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:10 PM   #8
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Independence, KS
Posts: 37

well the second link works! thank you I will start reading through it!!!
heavyd1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:10 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:21 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.