Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Spontaneous Truck Fire!

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2008, 03:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spontaneous Truck Fire!

I know I am a noob, but I had a situation today that I really need help with. I went to work, parked my truck and 10min later it was fully on fire under the hood. Not an electrical fire but a blazing inferno. we managed to put it out quickly with a nearby hose but there is significant damage to all things plastic under the hood. I am looking for a donor vehicle to try and put all of the stuff back together again. Also i had a poer steering leak, so the steering box was pretty well coated, but i dont think power steering fluid can spontaneously combust.

Am i crazy for thinking I can rebuild this thing? What could have caused the fire in a parked truck in the first place? I really dont want it to happen again, as i park next to the house.

Any input would be totally appreciated. I have used the information on this forum to help me with many projects.

Thanks!
Old 08-21-2008, 03:59 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
the power steering fluid is auto trans fluid and does combust rather easily.
could be a combination of fuel leak and ps leak causing problems.
fixing it would require replacement of all the soft parts around the engine and the wiring.
if you could find a roll-over or rear-end total, you'd have a good donor for nearly everything you need. even if you could find a total from a front-end collision, you'd have a good chance of frankensteining it to life.
check wrecking yards for a full front clip and you should be golden. wouldn't even need a whole truck then.
but this might be a good chance to do a 3.4 swap. you'll be out nearly the same at this point.
Old 08-21-2008, 04:17 PM

where you located?

I wish my truck spontaneously combusted
Old 08-21-2008, 04:44 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Power steering fluid burns great!
Old 08-21-2008, 04:48 PM