Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Smog Troubles - CA blues

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2014, 05:00 PM

Received 35 Likes on 24 Posts
Smog Troubles - CA blues

So, the third time isnt always the charm apparently. Just got done with my 3rd smog attempt and i failed again, barely on NOx. Now I am no smog expert, so I will just tell the story and hopefully you guys see something I don't.

Background on truck:

88 Toyota Pickup, 3vze, 205k miles. Rebuilt motor around 160k. Runs great..

No Engine Codes

Mods:
32x11.5 15 Goodyear kevlar MTR tires
Thorley Headers and 2 1/4 inch exhaust.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

FIRST TEST
Notes:
91 octane
Timing at 12 degrees advanced. (derp)

SECOND TEST
Notes:
91 Octane
Timing at 9 Degrees advanced. Yay

THIRD TEST
Notes:
91 Octane
Timing at 9 Degrees advanced.
  • New Throttle Body Intake Hose (old one had a crack)
  • New EGR Modulator Valve (old one didnt open consistently)
  • New Toyota Air filter..
  • Completely removed throttle body, cleaned and checked the vacuum lines running to the Modulator valve.
  • Readjusted TPS and the idle as I found it to be out of adjustment.
  • Tested EGR, its opening and getting vacuum.

Now it did improve. But the 3rd test was at a different shop. Their scale weighed my truck in at like 650 pounds less, so i think that is why the MAX NOx went down.. My guess is the first shops scale is off. Besides that. I would like to get my nox into good levels instead of trying to just barely pass it. If something is wrong I would like to fix it. Here are some Lambda calculations from the last test. One for the 15 and 25mph test.

15MPH Lambda Calculation:

25MPH Lambda Calculation:

Anything seem suspect here? Anything standing out that I should check? Thanks guys..
Old 04-23-2014, 07:13 PM
RJR

Received 109 Likes on 81 Posts