Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Reverse polarity problem 1992 sr5 4runner

Old 03-07-2013, 03:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Reverse polarity problem 1992 sr5 4runner

Hi im from Melbourne Australia and i have just finished installing a new gasket set in my 1992 SR5 HILUX head gasket rocker cover gasket exhaust manifold gasket air intake manifold gasket air filter oil filter leads and plugs im not that experienced with mechanics but i got through it pretty well with a little help from my mate anyhow after it was completed and it was time to start it it was completely dead no power to the dash or any of the accessories the only thing with power was my driving lights and the lights in the doors after a week or so of checking this and that i finally found a blown fusable link and the 100 amp main fuse AHHH big problem then i found what i had done i wrongly placed the wire on the alternator so where the main possitive power wire connects to the alternator i put both the possitive and negitive to the the same connector wich im told created a reverse polarisation so after fixing that problem and fixing the negitive earth wire to the body the 100 amp fuse and the fusable link are ok and dont blow anymore but now the situation is no matter what i do it will not start plenty of fuel and spark but nothing so i took it to a local mechanic who has now had the car for a week and called me today to tell me that he has never had a car like this that has got him stumped no matter what he tries it will not start so i was wondering if anybody has any ideas to what the problem might be if anybody can help it would be much appreciated many thanks

Last edited by andywho; 03-07-2013 at 04:01 AM.
Old 03-07-2013, 09:40 AM
Contributing Member

Welcome to the family mate. Not to be "snakey" but that post was very hard to read without punctuation. You don't have to use capitols but a period or comma now and then would be good