Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Replacing Ball joints, TRE's too?

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2013, 10:02 PM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Replacing Ball joints, TRE's too?

I got a 93 4runner (22re) and have been slowly getting her into shape.
Next on my list is replacing the ball joints, shocks, and steering stabilizer. Should I go ahead and replace my tie rod ends since I'm going to be right there anyway? If so, do inner and outer both typically need to be replaced?

I already need to get the alignment done on it (it's pulling to the right), so my thought is just do everything at once. On the other hand, I don't want to be replacing parts just for the sake of it!

I'm new to this stuff and could use some sage wisdom and few smart a** comments =) Thanks!
Old 02-16-2013, 10:28 PM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Do they have play are the boots torn, if not they're good. Depending on what you plan on using the cost is negligible, might as well do em and not have to wonder. The "economy" versions are comperable to the price of an alignment.
Old 02-16-2013, 11:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Err maybe...
Err is not a word, but it's the first thing I thought when I read the question.
If I'm honest, your TRE are probably good... so long as there is something not obviously wrong with them.
Now of course you are, or will be at the stage where replacing them only
comes down to turning a couple bolts and nothing more.
If I'm honest, I have absolutely no idea what Toyota OME parts cost (and I wouldn't use anything but)
If I were you, I might call up your toyota dealership and figure out a price on the tie rod ends. Then figure out if the cost is worth your time, and I can not honestly answer that for you.