Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Replaced thermostat, blew head gasket, how much???

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2008, 07:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Replaced thermostat, blew head gasket, how much???

As my luck always seem to go, I fix something cheap and easy only to have something much more costly happen next.

My thermostat needed to be replaced because I was having issues with O/D in cold weather. Put a new one in last night, drove it around, no problems. Took it on a trip today, didn't lose O/D once. Hooray!

Well upon returning home I noticed a bunch of white smoke, or actually steam coming from the exhaust, which is really only a sign of one thing...a blown head gasket (or cracked block I guess).

I have never done this before, but I have a brother and a dad who are mechanics, so I have help. My question is how much is this going to cost me. Is the big expense of replacing the head gasket labor? I found one online and it was $80.

If the block is actually cracked, which I doubt but who knows, does that pretty much mean I need a new engine?

Looking for any help I can get.

1990 4Runner, V6 3.0L 4 Door, 4WD

Thanks
Mike
Old 02-02-2008, 07:36 PM

Next question, does anyone know how to check my VIN with the SSC for head gaskets? I saw a lot of people via a Google search that had this done in 06, is it possible they will still replace mine?

That would be the only good news I've had today. Drove 300 miles round trip to watch my favorite basketball team lose, truck broken down, wife and kids are sick (daughter puking as I arrived home) and the dog ate the corner of my downstairs carpet.

A free repair just might make it all worth it!
Old 02-02-2008, 07:47 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts