86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Rear Drum Brake Questions?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2008, 08:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Drum Brake Questions?

I see this little lever on the passenger side, inside the rear of the frame. It seems that both the rear brake lines connect to this lever that moves up and down. I have never seen anything like it and curious if this is for bleeding the line or what. (Im a noob here guys) I need to replace the leaking divers side rear wheel cylinder and have never done this before. I would like to learn more about it so I make sure to do it right. Just looks like two bolts so it should be easy but eh, what do I know? I see this lever and a bleeder valve so I am like Hmmm, what is this thingy LOL. Thanks guys
Old 08-14-2008, 08:13 PM
Donny, you're out of your element
Staff

Received 54 Likes on 34 Posts
its called a load sensing proportioning valve.

Jest leave it alone, replace the wheel cylinder, then bleed the system.
Old 08-14-2008, 08:17 PM

So how does this load sensing proportioning valve work exactly. Just seems like a lever that moves up and down and always returns to the center position it was in. Would really like to learn something here if you do not mind. Thanks
Old 08-14-2008, 08:20 PM
Staff

To honest i am not 100% sure. My guess, is that its just a valve that works based on the load placed on your truck. The lower the truck squats, the more brake pressure is applied to the rear brakes. Of course with todays braking systems there isn't any need for one, but it was pretty important back in the day.
Old 08-14-2008, 08:22 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
Originally Posted by DeathCougar
...My guess, is that its just a valve that works based on the load placed on your truck. The lower the truck squats, the more brake pressure is applied to the rear brakes...
precisely...