86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

radiator leak

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2008, 08:34 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
radiator leak

So after visiting a mechanic to have my AC looked at, he also noted that my radiator has some small leaks.

He said that they could either repair the radiator (cost of $240) or replace it ($280)

However, I haven't noticed any problems with overheating issues in the past 6 months I've owned the truck. I have had to add a bit of coolant though, as I noticed the levels dropped a bit.

So, I have a few questions...
1. Should I fix the radiator? Or will it be fine so long as I keep an eye on the coolant level?
2. Will some of that radiator leak stopping fluid work? http://www.barsproducts.com/C16_R6.htm
3. If I replace the radiator, is it a hard job to do yourself? I'm just getting into auto repair, but feel pretty comfortable with a wrench now. Is this a job that I can tackle myself? I would also need to replace the hoses and thermostat as well.

thanks for all the input!
Old 08-26-2008, 08:39 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
You can pick up a new 3-row radiator in the $100-$150 price range from a number of on-line sources and it is easy to replace yourself. Just drain the old one, pull the hoses, 4 bolts hold it in place, and it'll lift right out. Drop the new one in and fill it with coolant and it is good to go. Usually costs about as much to repair the old one as to get a new one.
Old 08-26-2008, 09:04 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
4Crawler forgot to mention to unbolt the shroud from the radiator- that's only 4 bolts though.
Old 08-26-2008, 09:09 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Originally Posted by abecedarian
4Crawler forgot to mention to unbolt the shroud from the radiator- that's only 4 bolts though.
Or just slip the lower half of the shroud off:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/ForSale/...ToyotaRadiator