Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

please help me! Problem opening trans case G52

Old 09-28-2015, 10:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
please help me! Problem opening trans case G52

Hi everybody, I moved down here to Buenos Aires, Argentina from Florida around 3 years ago and bought me a 1997 Toyota Hilux 2.8d d/c 4x4 sr5 with the g52 gearbox. I am a newbie I guess when it comes to wrenching on the truck but I do have a lot of free time to study all that I needed to for the list of fixes I was going to attempt myself.

A few weeks ago I noticed there was gear oil all over the gearbox but I couldn't tell where it was coming from. I carefully drove it home that night and drained the box which was missing 1.65 liters, almost half.

I gave the gearbox and tcase a thorough cleaning and refilled the gearbox so that I could maybe see where the leak was coming from. Started her up, it saw that it was coming from the bell housing at the drain hole as well as a drop coming from the clutch lever hole that didn't have the boot properly seated.

I moved it to where I was going to work on it and felt the clutch vibrate when puting it in first, great! Now I just fowled the clutch. I also remember seeing there was an old very slow leaking rear main seal that needed to be taken care of.

So I dropped the tcase, and gearbox then saw the clutch was rustville and the pilot bearing was in pieces on the ground. Shocking just how dirty everything was. Power washed the bell housing and tranny. Angle grinder with brass brush was the most satisfying though. I am begining to like this. Do you guys clean your bolts with a toothbrush too? My wife thinks I am nuts. Removed the clutch, flywheel, and rear main seal.