Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Overdrive on or off?

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2015, 12:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overdrive on or off?

Hey Yotatech people!

So, I've been driving my 95 4Runner for the last 5 months with the overdrive on. I just today thought "I should see if what it's like with overdrive off" and when I did, the engine felt much more responsive at higher speeds and almost felt like it went into lower gear. Is that what it's supposed to do? Is it easier on the engine and tranny to drive with it off or on?
Old 06-28-2015, 05:28 PM
RJR

Received 109 Likes on 81 Posts
Your experience is normal. Overdrive is just what it says, it's an extra gear above the normal high gear. (Strictly speaking, it means the transmission output shaft is turning faster than the input shaft, rather than 1:1 as in a normal "high" gear).

So, overdrive allows your engine to run slower when cruising on the highway, saving wear and fuel. However, it will not be as responsive because of the higher gearing. Also, depending on the transmission, in overdrive the transmission "freewheels" on downhills, so engine braking is non-existent.

Normally, leave the overdrive on for level highway driving, and switch it off in the mountains or on slower curvy roads to prevent extra shifting and to have better engine braking.
Old 06-28-2015, 05:39 PM

Received 568 Likes on 448 Posts
RJR... You beat me to it. That is exactly what I was going to say!

Old 06-29-2015, 09:20 AM

Originally Posted by RJR
Normally, leave the overdrive on for level highway driving, and switch it off in the mountains or on slower curvy roads to prevent extra shifting and to have better engine braking.
Driving city streets with stop and go traffic would that be best with OD off?
Old 06-29-2015, 10:14 AM

Received 599 Likes on 439 Posts
Originally Posted by boxer.fan
Driving city streets with stop and go traffic would that be best with OD off?