YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2007, 06:15 PM   #1
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
linuxrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gladstone, Oregon
Posts: 851
Oil Pressure Gauge Does Not Work

I did the SR5 gauge swap and finally got around to installing a new oil pressure sender gauge about 3 weeks ago. After installing the gauge style sending unit it worked great and I loved how all of my gauges worked. Then about 3 days ago I did an oil change and now it no longer works, I used the FSM procedures to test the sending unit and the gauge, both test fine so there is a brake somewhere between the sending unit and the gauge. Anybody know anywhere else I could test it from? I am getting voltage out of the sending unit, but not to the back of the gauges, and I can see no brake in the wire, but it disappears quickly into a large bundle of wire.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
__________________
88 4runner 22re

Quote:
"Ditch that IFS because it is already crap and go for an SAS! (Single Axle Swap)"
linuxrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 06:37 PM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
frodin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NOW, Havasu!
Posts: 1,072
I sounds kinda fishy that you did an oil change and now it doesn't work. I would check that area first.
frodin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 06:38 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 126
Isn't is just a 1-wire sender? In that case it would just provide a ground to the gauge. My oil pressure gauge doesn't work, what is the FSM test for the gauge and sender?
__________________
1993 4Runner 4wd 3vze Auto w/Factory 31's 4.88's

1987 4Runner SR5 22re Auto SAS'd 35" MTR's Lockers 5.29's

First Yota- 1988 4wd Pickup 22re 5spd 31's
SoCalWheeler71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 06:40 PM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Chief_Yota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montreal baby
Posts: 432
ground the wire it should go all the way up,if it works change your sender ,or get a aftermarket one,cheapo stuff and really precisse,comes with the gauge too!! thats what i did ,if you need pics tell me.
__________________
-------------------------------------
If it's not broken, it hasn't been modified enough.

pickup 91 3.slo,along with "the money draining mod"
PROJECT SAS UNDER CONSTRUCTION


MY SAS BUILDUP AND MUCH MORE FONKY STUFF,check it out!!
http://www.yotatech.com/f116/yet-ano...s-pics-155676/
Chief_Yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 06:42 PM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 126
You will need to use the wiring diagram in the FSM, just find out what color the wire is that goes into the gauge, and check it for continuity at several points until you find the break. The factory gauge isn't really that accurate, that why I haven't fixed mine, just gonna get an Autometer.
__________________
1993 4Runner 4wd 3vze Auto w/Factory 31's 4.88's

1987 4Runner SR5 22re Auto SAS'd 35" MTR's Lockers 5.29's

First Yota- 1988 4wd Pickup 22re 5spd 31's

Last edited by SoCalWheeler71; 07-10-2007 at 06:43 PM.
SoCalWheeler71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 07:47 PM   #6
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
linuxrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gladstone, Oregon
Posts: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief_Yota View Post
ground the wire it should go all the way up,if it works change your sender ,or get a aftermarket one,cheapo stuff and really precisse,comes with the gauge too!! thats what i did ,if you need pics tell me.
Just a sec let me try that...
__________________
88 4runner 22re

Quote:
"Ditch that IFS because it is already crap and go for an SAS! (Single Axle Swap)"
linuxrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:13 PM   #7
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
linuxrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gladstone, Oregon
Posts: 851
ok, i tired grounding the wire, but i got no gauge movement.

The FSM says to check the resistance between two terminals on the gauge cluster and it should be 44 ohm's. I tested and i get 43.8 so i am pretty darn close. But i still get no movement at all, it just sits on the bottom.
__________________
88 4runner 22re

Quote:
"Ditch that IFS because it is already crap and go for an SAS! (Single Axle Swap)"
linuxrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:45 PM   #8
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
linuxrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gladstone, Oregon
Posts: 851
if i ground the wire with a volt meter, i get 12.35 volts, so it would seem that there is not a brake in the wire, or i would not get any voltage if i were to ground it. Anybody know of any other way to test the guage, other that the FSM way?
__________________
88 4runner 22re

Quote:
"Ditch that IFS because it is already crap and go for an SAS! (Single Axle Swap)"
linuxrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 11:58 AM   #9
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
linuxrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gladstone, Oregon
Posts: 851
Bump for any more ideas
__________________
88 4runner 22re

Quote:
"Ditch that IFS because it is already crap and go for an SAS! (Single Axle Swap)"
linuxrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 11:58 AM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
1987, 22re, 4runner, autometer, diagram, doesnt, gauge, oil, pressure, sender, sending, test, toyota, unit, wire, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Oil Pressure Gauge motorad General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) 5 07-23-2007 12:32 PM
Oil Pressure Gauge Kiff 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 1 03-08-2007 06:11 PM
Best location for new oil sender (Autometer oil pressure gauge) Bob_98SR5 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 10 10-20-2004 03:13 PM
Oil Pressure Gauge The4runner 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 8 02-22-2004 03:22 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:06 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.