86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Oil Pan Removal and Eventual Top End Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2011, 03:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil Pan Removal and Eventual Top End Rebuild

First: 90 4runner 4x4 22re 5 speed (stock). I am a noob and working in my backyard.

On a roadtrip my truck started producing a loud top end tapping. The car ran well aside from the noise, and I made it back home. Took it to a mechanic who identified an exhaust manifold leak, and showed me that the 3&4 exhaust rockers were badly worn along with the cam--looked like they had been starved for oil. The timing chain was replaced by the previous owner and the guides are intact.

The mechanic quoted me $700 for replacing the two rockers, exhaust rocker shaft, and the cam. I decided to go for this myself, and replace all the rockers, shafts, and throw on EB 268. I also had a leaky pan and decided that now was the time to pull that guy off and reseal it.

So I began late today on getting the oil pan off as per the "Oil Pan Removal Thread" posted by AllCammedUp.

My truck has been sitting for the last two weeks while I have assembled the parts for the project. I discovered coolant on the bottom of the radiator, which ran down the skid plate to the cross member. Then as I lay under the oil pan I looked up and saw coolant where the block and tranny meet (coolant is off to the right).
Oil Pan Removal and Eventual Top End Rebuild-nfgcn.jpg

I drained the radiator and the block and pulled the radiator out--there was no oil present in the coolant. Nor was there coolant in the oil that I drained.

Ran out of light before I could get the pan off. I have the differential lowered, need to pull the relay rod off the pitman arm end and take off the steering dampener. I will post pics tomorrow of what I find in the pan.