Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Newbie: Uhaul Toyota one ton dually box truck help pre- purchase

Old 09-03-2014, 02:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Newbie: Uhaul Toyota one ton dually box truck help pre- purchase

Wanted to introduce myself as I'm new here. Im "Dodger" from NY state. I have been wrenching and repairing on most of my trucks and motorcycles now for almost 22 years. Its great to fix something and have it run again forever- and likewise bad to fix something badly engineered and crap out all the time so you eventually hate it! Ive done both!

I'm new to Toyota as I now have a 2000 Ford Ranger and an 1977 Ex Military Dodge 886 Ambulance. I wish I had purchased a Toyota instead of my "Henry's Plastic Blue Oval" but hope to pull the trigger on a 'yota sometime this year.

In the past I have used the heavy Dodge as haul truck for my business. It literally goes anywhere you point it... in all weather, snow, mud, gravel, ice- name it! Full Time 4WD and massive capacity a real head turner too! Great for hauling stuff to remote locations, camping, or enclosing stuff you don't want ripped off. But mileage and massive gear train noise at highway speeds make it a more feasable off road and less of a daily driver. So it is reluctantly up for sale.

Times and needs have changed- and I am now looking to buy a retired Uhaul Toyota one ton dually box truck. I drive alot from NYC to upstate with light weight "balloon frieght" and a gas guzzler is out of the question. I have been a big fan of the Toyota 22R and 22RE engines for their legendary reliability and now cult status.

The 'Yota Uhaul comes equipped either with a 22r, 22re, or the 3vz-e engine( "see: head gasket leak section"-I know). It seems Uhaul also used the 8 inch one ton full floating 6 bolt rear with 4:10 gears(?) and an automatic transmission (dont know the model)