Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

New to Yotas, and need some help

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2013, 07:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Yotas, and need some help

I just bought a 93 pickup with the 22RE a little over a month ago. Just recently, it started having periodic ignition issues. It feels like a misfire, but I suppose it could possibly be fuel related, too. The check engine light comes on, but resets itself within a few minutes.

I'm only running into this with the engine warm, it usually just does it for a few seconds, and then goes back to running. But yesterday, I was on the road, and it shut down, and it didn't want to start back up. It's so random, I have no idea where to start looking. It runs great when I'm at home or able to look at it. I've been around a few other makes, but I'm brand new to Toyotas. If it's at warm idle and does it, it dies.

I've tried searching without much results. Similar stuff, but different. Also, I'm going to grab a service manual. Is one preferred over another?
Old 07-28-2013, 07:08 AM

Have you replaced the distributor cap, rotor, plug wires and plugs? That would be my first step and see if that does the trick.
Old 07-28-2013, 10:00 AM

Plugs and wires have been replaced. Rotor and cap have not. I really don't have the desire to start switching parts out hoping it will work. I was looking for a method to diagnose what is going on. If the problem was continuous, I would have some idea what to do. But with this level of randomness, I don't know where to start. I may pull the cap today and see how it looks.
Old 07-28-2013, 10:34 AM