86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

My lil project...

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2009, 07:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My lil project...

Luckily for me, I am a toyota tech so most of the work I've done here is more inconvenient crap to do than scratch my head and say 'what the hell' kind of thing... But I've made a whole lotta progress in the last couple months since I bought it. here's a readers digest versiou... Bought it, $800, AC didn't do anything, rear window wouldn't work, key wouldn't come out of the ignition switch, wipers were inop, alternator was dead, sunroof was broken, suspension was shot, a couple windows didn't work too well, half the light bulbs were burnt out, it didn't run for crap... lots of stuff. I Started digging into it, 0 compression cyl 6. pulled it apart, the (if i'm remembering correctly, might be vice versa of this) intake valve on 6 and exhaust valve right next to it had the valve seats completely beat out of the head, and the cam was wiped out. Head was useless. Got lucky, found a head in a local junkyard for $80 bucks. Cleaned everything up, lapped all the valves, replaced valve seals, lots of other stuff. threw a new alternator on it, fired right up. Have been driving it daily ever since then. Step one was taking off those awful running boards. They left trails of rust everywhere i went and looked like crap.

http://i744.photobucket.com/albums/x...unguzeng/1.jpg