86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

MPG Reality

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2008, 07:13 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
MPG Reality

I keep seeing post after post about fuel economy. It's understandable as gas prices rise. How ever, much of the concern is really unwarranted and discussion unproductive. I'm an engineer and my specialty is cars.

If you have a mod that improved your fuel economy an amount you measured, post it in this thread and maybe we can get them all in one place.

Our 4x4's have two things that make them good 4x4's and fuel inefficient at the same time. One, they have terrible aerodynamics due to ground clearance. Lots of air gets under the truck where there isn't a smooth surface to be found. Two, they are heavy. Their strong frames which make them so durable off road weigh a lot. 4000lb is a lot of truck to move. It takes energy to move mass period. That mass will hurt the city fuel economy. Yes, there are other interactions between the auto Vs. stick, pickup Vs. 4runner, 2wd Vs 4wd, etc... but these two qualities mean you just aren't going to get very good mileage out of them and it gets worse fast when you add off road goodies.

For comparison, I until recently had the pleasure of owning and driving a 1994 Ford Explorer Limited and my 1994 Toyota 4runner SR5. The Explorer was a 2wd low to the ground SUV with a 4.0L V6. My 4runner is a 4 wheel drive SUV with a mild lift, a lot more ground clearance, and a 3.0L V6. The 4runner also weights a bit more. Each vehicle ran flawlessly and got about the same fuel economy. Yes you read it right, the 3.0 in the more aerodynamically obtuse and massive vehicle got fuel economy on par with the larger engine in the more fuel efficient chassis.