Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Minnesota winter has arrived! Couple questions....

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2013, 09:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation Minnesota winter has arrived! Couple questions....

Moved back from Nevada to MN and not so sure about "winterization" of the 87. What do you guys do for it? Is it safe to lock my hubs and keep them locked in all winter long? If I am understanding right, they only turn when shifted into 4 high right? Also can you "sipe" a used set of tires? Other things I should do to prepare? My wife's car is at best buy as we speak, getting remote start installed, so I can park in the garage.
Thanks guys,
Woody
Old 11-11-2013, 10:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I used to live in Fairbanks, Alaska, so I've had some experience keeping trucks alive in the cold. Do people in Minnesota plug their cars in when they're at work or if they don't have a garage? If so, you'll want to get a block heater, oil pan heater, and a battery heater or trickle charger. Plug your car in when it's about -15 or colder. That uses a lot of electricity, so most people use a timer so the car is only warming for 2-3 hours before you drive it. Put some lighter weight synthetic oil in, and make sure you have a proper 50:50 mix of water and antifreeze in your radiator.
Old 11-11-2013, 11:41 AM

Received 24 Likes on 14 Posts
^^^^^^^^ That about says it all.
Old 11-11-2013, 01:56 PM
osv

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
you can buy a tool to sipe your own tires.

my guess on the manual hubs is that when they are locked, trans in 2wd, the axles are going to turn as you go down the road, because they are being driven by the tires??

on the solid front axle trucks, the front axle shafts ride inside a bronze bushing, not a bearing, which isn't the best choice for longevity... if the ifs trucks are the same, i'd only lock the hubs when you need 'em.

get a locker for the rear axle.