Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

M/Ts, front locker, chains or what?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2009, 01:42 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
M/Ts, front locker, chains or what?

I'm studying for an exam for work and bored out of my wits. I am thinking (day dreaming) about off road improvements to my 4Runner. I've already got BJ spacers (loosened Tbars for stock ride height) and I have swaybar discos. The rear has been leveled with OME coils and locked with an Aussie Locker. I'm running 31x10.5r15 Nokian Vatiiva A/Ts (alright, but nothing to write home about).

Most of my 4wd time is spent in pursuit of fish:

on roads which look often like this:

or this:

or this:

once in a while, I'm an idiot (Sunday 5pm, rainy night, middle of nowhere, stuck)

My tires have a tendency to load up a bit in that stuff:

That said, I cannot compromise ice traction as i often drive ice roads like this:

Though chains aren't too bad for the ice, its often patches of unexpected ice interspersed with miles of dry bare pavement or gravel.

Also, friends would be pissed if their "ski boat" didn't didn't work well in packed snow:

Once in a while I wish I had more traction though, I'm thinking about just buying a second set of chains (to cover all 4 tires) and using them in the mud and snow, or Aussie locking the front (for low speed stuff), or maybe going to a more aggressive (but ice- capable !!!) tire without loosing too many MPG or changing tire size. Leaning towards the tires today, but I don't want tires that wear fast (Trxus MT) or use up too many MPG.

What would you do? Please don't respond if you "increased" your traction with light bars and shiny wheels

/bored-while-studying-at-3am thread

Last edited by Matt16; 02-11-2009 at 01:55 AM.
Old 02-11-2009, 05:06 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I would definitely go for a more aggressive for most of those trails (minus the light snow).