Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Loss of power, LOUD clicking, blown head gasket

Old 09-23-2012, 12:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Loss of power, LOUD clicking, blown head gasket

I'm new to yotatech, I love the site, you all are are awesome. Sorry about the long post in advance, I'll try to break it up as best I can. I bought a 92 yota pickup, 22re 5spd 4cyl a couple months ago and yesterday it had a melt down.

I noticed over the last week that if I shifted to 5th gear below 70mph the engine would bog slightly and I would lose speed; I was curious, but not alarmed so I didn't do anything about it.

Yesterday, I was driving on the highway between 60-70mph for about 6 miles, and when I exited, stopped at the light, and took off on the side street, the engine was clicking very loud and the click speed increased with RPM. It did this thru all gears. If i pushed in the clutch, it stopped, but if I revved the engine high (even with the clutch in, or in neutral) the clicking could still be heard, but much less loud.

I decided I better get home, obviously, so I took surface roads in case it blew up and i had to pull over. The clicking stayed consistent, but I was rapidly loosing power. I just barely made it home (1st gear high rpm doing 5mph) up the hill to my house.

I pulled into the garage and the engine died. I popped the hood and took a look; about a minute later white smoke started pouring out of the tail pipe and coolant drips from the exhaust joints under the truck.

No coolant in the oil pan, but the middle two spark plugs were wet and smelled of burnt coolant.

I obviously have a bad head gasket, but the big question here is... What was the loud clicking sound? Was it related to the head gasket failing, or do I have a separate issue? If I have things to fix, I want to do it all at once. Any thoughts or opinions would be a huge help. Thanks!
Old 09-25-2012, 12:16 PM

Received 94 Likes on 79 Posts