Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

IFS Suspension and questions

Old 05-29-2014, 08:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IFS Suspension and questions

I have a 88 22re 4runner and i'm new to the 4runners, as well as ifs. This truck is my daily driver and will be until i get back on my feet. I work at a machine shop were we scrap alot of different metal, so with that being said i get my material really cheap. The previous owner has the torsion bars cranked all the way up.

Reasons for me not going sas is because i have a debt from college (graduated 2 years ago), and dont have much of the time to do it. So please don't say to sas it because that will come later on. I want a smoother ride, more travel and ground clearance. I was told to stay away from body lifts.

I want to do some 2 1/2" Ball joint spacers, and a diff drop. I'm unsure if a ball joint spacer is for travel only or if it will give my truck a lift at all.

Questions i have,
1. Does ball joint spacers give you a lift?
2. Does anyone have the measurements/link to help me make my own ball joint spacers?
3. how much of a diff drop should i do?/need to do? (if you know)
4. How do i make my own diff drop bracket?
5. Is there any other way(s) to achieve what i am looking to do without replacing major components?

Thank you in Advance!
Dan
Old 05-29-2014, 09:01 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by DanSocal619