Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Idler arm, pitman arm, leaky valve cover wohoos!

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2012, 10:45 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Idler arm, pitman arm, leaky valve cover wohoos!

So I took my truck to my local mechanic shop (lifetime friend). Her main man ran me through all the stuff my truck needs.

Valve cover gaskets, Idler, pitman, pass side balljoint (I did the driver's side last weekend).

We tightened down what appeared to be some type of breather on the driver's side of the vehicle and that that alleviated a lot of the oil leak (big wrench, very loose bolt).

So, how hard/time consuming is it for a newb like me to remove the intake plenum and replace these gaskets? He was stoked I did the ball joint myself after I told him the horror story and was confident I could do the work myself but tearing apart this engine intimidates me as I've never done it before. The most I've torn into an engine was a timing chain on an 8f4 22r and de-smogging a 2f.

Also it is due for a timing belt which I will likely have them do. They quoted me around $600 which seems fair as they will warranty the part and the work

Now for the suspension, I know I can do this....

Idler arm, Im going with the Autozone one that SDORI makes bushings for. I was happy to see it cost about half what the O'reilly one costs and others. No question there.

Pitman arm, does that one matter? I have seen numerous drastic price differences in my online searching. Any suggestions are appreciated.

For the lower BJ, I will be going Moog again because the last one fit like a dream.

The upper BJ's are original and still have no movement to speak of, I'm happy about that and now that I have a grease gun I know they will keep lubricated although I'm unsure how often to really lube them... Is there such a thing as too often? Maybe every oil change etc?