Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

I think I bought a lemon

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2009, 08:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I think I bought a lemon

Hey Guys,

I am new to toyotas but not to backyard car repair but when I bought a 1988 4runner with a 3vze, 180xxx, automatic with little body and frame rust I thought i got a deal. It ran fine when I test drove and i let it sit idling for a long time to see if it would act up but nothing. Drove it up some step hills and the tranny shifted fine. It had slow leaking valve gaskets but I thought no big deal easy to replace.

Ran ok since november but now the gasket are leaking none stop, I think the rear main is gone too. The timing belt it hitting the cover and making a heck of a racket. I replaced the drivers side valve gasket but now its leaking again. But i think that the cover might be bent or warped because when i went to take it off the lower right rear bolt was sheared off.

Just yesterday I went to leave work and the car will barely crawl forward till it hit 2000 rpm and then it has pick up then shift and the samething for every gear but not all the time just here and there which comes with a loud sound of water rushing or something to that effect but that too is not predictable. It will always bog down going up hill. Didn't know if it wasn't firing on all cylinders or the timing was now off or if the tranny was going.

Sorry for the long rant but its starting to get to me. I didn't know if you guys have any clue with what is wrong and a rough est. on replacing. I've always either done it myself or took to a mechanic I know but he doesn't work on toyotas. I'm in the portland, me area if you had any suggestions on shops because working outside right now sucks at below freezing temps.

Thank you and Sorry again for the many jumbled problems listed
Old 01-09-2009, 08:25 PM