86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

I need advice.....

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2009, 09:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I need advice.....

Noob here. 86' 4Runner 22re 5speed. not SR5. I have searched past threads but, none seem to lead me in a given direction. thank you for any help.

has compression 170psi cranking, spark, fuel. TPS adjusted plate is fully closed, also new. Fuel pump & pres. regulator new, VAF ohms out fine. I can get base timing of 5*btdc, 12* after pulling ckt. Cold start inj time switch is little high on OHM reading. Valves are adjusted. Injectors ohm out at 2.7 OHMS( could be clogged?. ) Igniter #053 passed check with 1.5v battery & 7volts at probe.

"""""Problem. Cranks over fine, won't start, will start sometimes and sometimes with foot to floor with pedal acting like you have a CARB. will only idle. No throttle, chucks, bucks, gags if you give throttle, seems like if you pinch off return for a few seconds and keep it closed you can get throttle, RPM and timing only for short while.""""" But I can go put my hand on top of fuel pump location and feel vibration of it working.

Fuel dampening pulsator who had it before me put a screw in it to keep it from leaking, I have new one ordered. will that mess up fuel pressure?

I pulled kick panels, EFI main relay is HOT to touch after 10 minutes and is new. ECU has a yellow marker highlighter says """yota 4runner computer"""" other side says 87 4runner also in hand writing.?????????

COR ohms out fine. Engine codes it is now throwing to me is 2,7, 12.

just bought it, it was 40*retarded and as soon as I replaced a few things all this happened. any help is appreciated, thanks
Old 05-24-2009, 11:20 AM

First off and excuse the dumb question but did you hook up the air intake 100%. The engine WILL NOT run without at least the mass air sensor hooked up.

Fuel pressure question: IDK