Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

How to check the gearing on 4x4 - 86 IFS 4cyl

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2008, 12:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to check the gearing on 4x4 - 86 IFS 4cyl

Hey All,

Lemme start off with a warning.... I am a complete and utter noob when it comes to 4x4, I have worked on hundreds of cars in my life but this is the first time I have ever even touched a 4x4 truck.

When I engage the 4x4 with the handle, everything seems fine, it seems to act like it should. I placed a camera under the truck and just engaged 4x4 (but not the hubs) and drove forward/back numerous times. Front drive shaft appears to be spinning as I would expect.

When I lock the hubs and pull the handle, the front tires dont seem to move, the truck pushed forward with the front wheels locked, and a horrible grinding noise and screeching (like slamming the breaks at 10 mph). I immediatly disengaged, and havent tried since in fear of causing more damage.

2wd works fine, although it looks like the front shaft still slowly spins even when 4x4 isnt engaged.

When I lift up the front end of the truck, and lock the hubs, I can spin the tire, and the CV's move fine.

If I spin the front drive shaft (4x4 disengaged, but hubs locked) the tires spin fine.

Drivers side CV boot is torn in 2, but parts inside seem 'greesed' still.

Any ideas? My prime suspect is that the prev owner had geared the rear end, but not the front, does this seem right? And is there any method to check the gearing between front & back?

I have put maybe 50 miles on the truck, and dropped $2200 on parts since I bought it, its spent most of its time in my driveway with the hood up and my wallet opened.
Old 10-29-2008, 12:22 PM
Contributing Member

I think your right. Gears dont match between the front and rear. Seems like you may have gotten taken on this buy. How much total including the truck do you have in it.
Old 10-29-2008, 12:24 PM