86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

help:wierd find:but need help

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2007, 06:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation help:wierd find:but need help

ok here goes i am new to the cite and to toyotas.
i found a 1990 extended cab yota. stoped and looked at it kid said he didnt have enough money to finish fixing it up. he droped the gas tank put all new pump in and moved didnt have the money or time to work on it so i snaged it up for a fairly cheep price.
said he hit a tree off roading pressure washed under the hood and was going down the road it spit and spudderd and no gas no power to coil.
(it had only been for sale for 4hrs) so towed it home put the gas tank in hooked everything up and...well mabey thought i was dumb for buying a truck that didnt run.so after a week of looking, searching, and pulling out my hair i traced out a problem. there was a 6 inch piece of speaker wire spliced in to the wiring harnest.apperently corrded from water and bumped loose from hitting the tree. put newwire in soilderd and used srink tube to fix it right. well it was going to the coil from ignition. finially a beak of luck and sounded like it could run. now still didnt have power to fule pump...still dont know how i fixed it but check power all the way down fule pump has power..?
unhooked the battery cable for an hour came back and it fired?
ran very very rough had been sitting for a year. blow black smoke and wouldnt idle. made loping sound with throttle (mabey tps?) but after about a week of starting looking around one night it just straitend out ran fine ilded?
but now it wont start unless u use starting fliud.so i figured mabey it wasnt getting enough spark. so i replaced cap, roter,wires,and plugs,and put a proformance coil on it. it still wont start with out starting fliud. runs fine idles no smoke once it warms up it will start up with a little gas pedle action.