Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Help a Newbie: General Updating To-Do List

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2016, 12:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help a Newbie: General Updating To-Do List

Hi,

I just purchased an '86 4x4 pickup and want to update everything that may potentially be a larger issue for a 30-year old truck. The motor seems solid, with a few updates such as plug wires, etc.

However, the suspension feels spent, so I'm assuming it hasn't had much TLC over the years. I want to ensure that I'm not riding in a death trap, but I'm far from a mechanic, so just need some guidance on where to begin. Perhaps, what to look for? I'm hearing some loud pops/ screeching at sharp turns and low speeds. Assuming the balls joints need updating from what I could find here.

Is there a general priority list that I could run down? Appreciate all of the advice anyone can provide!
Old 01-28-2016, 12:25 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm a newbie too, but here's where I start when I want to know something!
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/toyota-truck-4runner/775780-toyota-bible-faq-2-0-a.html
Old 01-28-2016, 12:28 PM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Start here: http://web.archive.org/web/201208120...buchanan/93fsm

Run through all the items in the maintenance schedule. In your case, follow the links to suspension, and run the tests on the ball joints.

Originally Posted by bigbog
... However, the suspension feels spent, so I'm assuming it hasn't had much TLC over the years. I want to ensure that I'm not riding in a death trap, but I'm far from a mechanic,
If you're willing to use "deathtrap" and "far from a mechanic" in the same sentence, you should consider dropping a few bucks on someone who REALLY is a mechanic. He doesn't have to do the work (replacing ball joints isn't that tough), but you'll feel better having someone tell you where you've GOT to start.
Old 01-28-2016, 02:45 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

I always start at the bottom and work up.