Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

HELP!: 22R with engine/fuel loss when shifting...

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2007, 05:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP!: 22R with engine/fuel loss when shifting...

I'm new to the Toyota scene so please excuse the fact that this may be a FAQ. I have searched for the past 3 hours on many forums and it seems I have narrowed down a few things that may be my problem. I need assistance from you guys who may have had the same problem.

I have a 90 Toyota pickup that I picked up yesterday with a carb'd 22R motor with 200k miles. The truck was my father's who didn't drive it much at all. He bought it last year and I don't have any receipts to show what has been replaced or serviced.

Here is my problem. I am going to use this truck as a daily driver for work. The motor starts fine. I have to pump the gas a bit but it starts almost every time (keep in mind it hasn't been driven in many months). Once I put it in gear and take off, it seems to run lean (i guess) in between shifts and cuts off when I disengage the clutch to shift. I love this truck to death and want it to be dependable and reliable. I am willing to do whatever it takes to resolve this issue.

Does anyone know what my problem may be? I have many ideas that I have gained tonight from searching the forums as to what may be the problem but I thought it would be good to see if I can get any help from you guys.

Many thanks!!!

Also, the supernerd stated that I should clean carb and replace fuel and air filters with a simple tune. I am about to pull carb and see what it looks like.
Old 05-24-2007, 10:17 AM

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts