Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

gen 2 2wd questions

Old 02-13-2013, 05:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
gen 2 2wd questions

so instead of being a typical newb, i searched and read for a while before posting and found a couple answers, but still have a couple.

I am getting a 1990 toyota 2wd pickup for free, needs a tank and clutch. otherwise rock solid.
i can trade some junk i have for an 84 4x4 pickup. frame was broken at cab, but i would get both halfs.

one of my thoughts was to put the 4x4 under the 2wd. i found that it is possible, i am fully capable of doing the repair, but a locked 2wd will go anywhere i need it to. daily driver with the occasional snow drift and mud hole, nothing major a winch cant solve. since im not doing an elaborite build, and want to keep the best MPG, i dont think 4x4 would happen, but....

1. any ball part clue on time frame of conversion?
i understand its differnt person to person, but just a good ball park number

2. how much are the 4x4 parts worth?
i was thinking of using the rear axle and front hubs to get 6 bolt rims on my 2wd.

3. is is possible to fit the 4x4 gas tank under the 2wd, any major issues?
online and napa arent showing me the exact tank via vin code, RN81 doesnt pop up.

4. is there any way to tell what package it is via vin?
ie base, dlx...

5. will the bumpers mount from the 84 to the 90. dont care about looks, jsut if it will bolt up?

6. are both engines interchangable?
both carb models. RN65 and RN81 vin codes

just trying to figure out if i shuold make the deal for the parts truck. answers to any would be great, thanx for you time!!

Last edited by vito51; 02-13-2013 at 05:43 PM.
Old 02-13-2013, 05:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'd make the deal. If the parts truck is complete then you have 1000.00 in parts easy.

Straight axles as a pair is kinda in high demand ya know.

If both engines are 22r's there interchangeable.