Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Gas Milage Problem? Transmission Shift Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2011, 05:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gas Milage Problem? Transmission Shift Problem?

I'm a newbie. I'm not a mechanic, but I've learned something that may help some of you. There are many very bright people here who know much more than I ever will. I ask you to give me the benefit of the doubt if I have oversimplified this, or left something out.

This may be a long post...I have an '87 4Runner with the turbo. I bought it a year and a half ago, and the mileage has been poor, 11 to 13 mpg. In reading the posts here, I learned that most people are reporting the same numbers. The transmission would not down shift when the engine was warm. I was getting a miss ever so often, but not regular. I changed the plugs, wires, etc. ... no help. I read all the posts about the TPS, MAFS, et al. I discovered the O2 Sensor was not working, and replaced it. No help. Then, I found some and answers.