Gas Gauge Acting up - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Gas Gauge Acting up

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2007, 05:02 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
bigredj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 64
Gas Gauge Acting up

So this Sunday me and the lady go for a little off road adventure in my woods. All goes well. Except on the way to dinner that evening I notice I have an empty tank. Earlier that day it had been above 3/4 of a tank and since then i've put about 100 miles on this so called "empty" tank with no change in the gauge. some insight on what I need to do to get it working again would be great. If I don't have to drop the tank that would be great, but if so, well damn. Thanks in advanced.
bigredj87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 05:46 PM   #2
Contributing Member
 
Jay351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: maple ridge, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 9,055
I can't remember the name of the part but you do have to drop the tank.
both our old f-150's where like that
Jay351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 05:54 PM   #3
Registered User
 
lftd_86_yota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay351 View Post
I can't remember the name of the part but you do have to drop the tank.
both our old f-150's where like that
sending unit
lftd_86_yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 06:03 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Corbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 217
On your 4runner you can access your sending unit under your rear seats. Toyota's are notorious for the sending unit crapping out.
Corbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 06:34 PM   #5
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
bigredj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 64
Thanks guys I hope Corbit is right, I'll look into that Tomorrow afternoon after class. Does anybody think that I could have knocked something loose while bouncing around off road?
bigredj87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 05:42 PM   #6
Contributing Member
 
leebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: marlbank, canada
Posts: 2,839
fold up the rear passenger seat and peel back the plasitc floor cover. you will see a plate with 4 bolts, remove those bolts and plate. beneath, you will see the fuel pump assy, disconnect any connectors, open your gas cap (relieve system pressure), remove fuel lines, remove bolts holding fuel pump assy, remove fuel pump and inspect.

reinstall is reverse, oh, btw, disconnect the battery before you start. dont need sparks working that close to fuel vapours.

lee
leebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 06:11 PM   #7
Registered User
 
dgomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 34
I have the same problems on my 87 4runner, I go about 90 km without the guage moving and then over the next 20 km or so the guage drops rapidly to empty. I have an 89 for parts, do you think that the sending unit for the 89 is the same as in the 87?

Thanks
dgomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 06:19 PM   #8
Registered User
 
punkotheclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: grantville, ga
Posts: 49
Haha, same exact thing happens in my 87! I just set the tripometer everytime i fill up...or wait til the low fuel light comes on. But i guess having a working fuel gauge would be nice...(particularly when off-roading for a while...)
punkotheclown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 09:04 PM   #9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
bigredj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 64
My gauge has always been a little stupid. It gets about 1/4 of the way down (3/4 of a tank) and then it will start to drop a lot faster than it took to burn that first quarter tank. Will this fix that?
bigredj87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 04:19 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 392
Mine works fine from full to half then doesn't work at all. I found that out after I rebuit the motor. I test drove it for a couple of days and then it died on my way to work for the 1st time with it. I was late so I had it towed by a friend back to my house. Later, I couldn't seem to find anything wrong so I just put some gas in it as a "let's get that out of my head" thing and it ran. Now I fill up at 1/2 a tank.
maxpower_hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 05:21 AM   #11
Registered User
 
trythis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
mine just started this, I have an sr5 cluster I installed, but I am not getting the sr5 sending unit becasue it is $60 more that the basic model. $60 for a light switch?...bah!
trythis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 06:15 AM   #12
Registered User
 
4Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 378
I just had a thread in the 84-85 section about this exact same issue. If it is the sending unit, you cannot access it through the rear seat panel (that only gives access to the pump/pickup). It is my understanding that the tank needs to be dropped to access the sending unit.
4Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 08:47 AM   #13
Contributing Member
 
shiftless89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Rocker View Post
I just had a thread in the 84-85 section about this exact same issue. If it is the sending unit, you cannot access it through the rear seat panel (that only gives access to the pump/pickup). It is my understanding that the tank needs to be dropped to access the sending unit.
DING DING DING you are correct sir, under the seat is the fuel pump, you have to lower the tank or cut a hole in the floor!
shiftless89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 09:02 AM   #14
Registered User
 
stock87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 291
Yep, sending unit. They tend to wear out where you spend a lot of time. When my mom had my truck for years, she always filled up at half a tank, and that's where the sending unit wore out and started behaving exactly like you describe.

Dealer is the only option as far as I know. Get ahold of the guys at Bob Bridge Toyota (http://www.1sttoyotaparts.com/) and they'll get you one at or below wholesale.
stock87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 05:52 AM   #15
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
bigredj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 64
Ok, so it is defiantly the sending unit. Now i have a parts truck sitting at my house, and I'm sure the sending unit worked in it before it was parked. Now there seems to be some confusion on how to access the sending unit. Has anybody accessed the sending unit from the seat in an 87 4 runner, if i have to drop the tank, I'm not so worried about it because the gas light still works.
bigredj87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 09:04 PM   #16
Registered User
 
marinesniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 8
I'm faithfully watching this thread to see how the sending unit swap comes out....I'm having the exact same issue with my '88.
marinesniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 09:52 PM   #17
Contributing Member
 
DudeBud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WA ,monroe
Posts: 1,871
on both my 1st gens runners you have to drop the tank to get to the sending unit. you can get to the fuel pump by folding up the seats and unscrewing the plate, but not the sending unit. i had a sending unit go out in my 87 pick up and my 84 4runner, my 88 4runner i had to pull it and straighten the wire that attaches to the float, because the 4runner was hit so hard in the front that the fuel in the tank sloshed around and bent it.. same thing with my 84 but after i straighten it still did not work..my 87 pickup it just quit working for no reason

edit: if my memory serves a new sending unit was 90 bucks at the dealer

Last edited by DudeBud; 05-03-2007 at 09:55 PM.
DudeBud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 10:13 PM   #18
Contributing Member
 
Elvota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 3,415
My gas gauge is acting up lately as well....

Now, when I reach half a tank it says, "Hey buddy, this is a stickup... give me all your money!!!"

I used to laugh it off as a joke, but when I get to the pump the next time... the damn thing is always right.
Elvota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:19 PM   #19
Registered User
 
surfmobile88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
This is on my to do list also. The dealer here in Southern Oregon wants $140 dollars for the sending unit. I'd like to find it cheaper without getting one at a junk yard since I don't want to replace it twice.
surfmobile88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:42 PM   #20
Registered User
 
MudHippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,106
Mine has done this a few times after off-roading. I have so far been able to fix it on the spot each occasion. What's my secret? Take a large blunt striking object (big ol' stick) and whack the bottom of the gas tank a time or two. Works like a charm.

Last edited by MudHippy; 06-09-2007 at 10:44 PM.
MudHippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st gen 4runner wont start when warm wafoogalla 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 6 08-10-2015 07:17 PM
93 Pickup 4wd Power Loss HollieJayyy 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 08-09-2015 07:59 AM
Temp gauge Nickyodaman 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 9 07-27-2015 12:13 AM
Gas gauge not working Tyler Cunningham 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 07-11-2015 10:18 AM
02 Tacoma temp gauge fluctuating and trans stopped working Poncho0206 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 3 07-10-2015 06:21 PM


Tags
150, 2003, 4runner, 95, 96, acting, avalon, bouncing, f150, fuel, gage, gas, gauge, guages, indicator, tank

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:00 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.