Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

forgot to rotate camshaft dowel before head install

Old 01-28-2011, 06:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
forgot to rotate camshaft dowel before head install

I've been running carefully over threads about how to replace a head gasket on my 88 4runner (22re). I have tried to be ultra careful but at the last second, my focus became entirely on the setting the headgasket and dropping the head correctly. I then torqued up the bolts w/o spinning the camshaft so that the dowel was facing directly up (noon). So now I'm left w/ the dowel at about 8:00 instead of 12:00, while my sprocket hole is still lined up at 12:00. Is there any remedy for this? Possibly spinning the crankshaft and lining them up at 8:00, putting them on, then spinning it back to 12:00? Or do I have to pull the head, replace the head gasket and spin it right before torquing down?

Obviously I'm a newbie, I appreciate any advice anybody can give.
Old 01-28-2011, 06:52 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
It might be just me but your post is kind of confusing. IF your doing a head gasket job its best to get the engine to top dead center before taking things apart. Assuming you got the crank to its proper postion along with the head i'm not sure what your problem is? It sounds like you didn't line up the cam and or it moved and its off? How far off did it go and which way? If it only moved a few teeth either way just turn it back it should be fine.

Crank sprocket dot at 6:00

Cam sprocket dot at 12:00

^ do that and you should have no issues.

Last edited by Kiroshu; 01-28-2011 at 06:54 PM.
Old 01-28-2011, 07:01 PM