86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Finished applying POR15 to floor

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2008, 04:25 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Exclamation Finished applying POR15 to floor

Here are a couple of pics I took when I finished applying POR15 on my firewall, floor and rear of cab. I can now start reassembly of my project (which is going to take some time). I'll post pics of my progress when I complete certain parts of the rebuild. If anybody has any POR15 related questions, please ask. I'm no expert, but now I have some "hands on" experience.

I just ordered dash clips and the small piece of insulation that goes around the base of the steering coulmn.
Old 10-06-2008, 07:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I just stripped my cab yesterday.I am going to use Herculiner or Duraback. I broke the tar pad with a hammer and took it out, it looks like you left yours in. I almost left it but had a little rust under the pedals. Looks good, get any on ya?
Old 10-06-2008, 10:03 PM
Contributing Member

ooooo! sparkly shiney... I really must order some of that wonder stuff this week I have a few light rusty spots on the floor I want to hit before the snow flies...
Old 10-07-2008, 12:36 AM

Why in the CAB???

...I didn't know the cab area was very susceptible to rust, why the POR 15 appalication there???
Old 10-07-2008, 02:34 AM

Pistonman = the only tar pad I left in was the one attached to the firewall. All others were removed with a putty knife and hammer (they will get replaced with Dynamat). I used a real good adhesive remover to clean the remainder of the tar off the floor.

aviator = I had some surface rust and needed to get this painted before it got too cold. It came out pretty good. Just follow the directions to the letter.