86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Engine Pinging. Summer Gas to Blame?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2011, 04:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine Pinging. Summer Gas to Blame?

Last week I started to notice my 22RE pinging on hard acceleration, especially in 4th and 5th gear. It never did this all winter long, no matter how much gas pedal I gave her.

I have heard rumors for years about "summer gas" and "winter gas". And since it's May 1st, I'm thinking maybe here in California they switched over to the summer blend and maybe that's the culprit.

Anyone else experiencing something similar in the past week? Or do I just need to do a tune-up?
Old 05-02-2011, 06:19 AM

Well, either I'm being shunned, or no one knows.

Guess I'll try a tune-up next weekend, and see if that helps.
Old 05-02-2011, 07:48 AM

I'm not a mechanic but I don;t think it's the gas. Tune-up sounds like a good idea, especially if's been a few years since the last one. Good luck!
Old 05-02-2011, 08:42 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
i would think the less ethanol content would make it ping less for summer gas, maybe its the oposite
Old 05-02-2011, 10:16 AM

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Try retarding your timing a bit..
Old 05-02-2011, 11:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by peow130
Try retarding your timing a bit..
+2 Make sure your timing is adjusted properly during the tune up.
Old 05-02-2011, 02:53 PM

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Summer gas to blame for pinging?

Short answer: No