86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

EFI Kill Switch

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2014, 03:49 PM

Received 35 Likes on 24 Posts
EFI Kill Switch

Im no wiring expert, if you were going to wire an inline switch to disable the EFI fuse/relay where would you do it? I have attached a wiring diagram with 4 possible locations that I can see, are any of these better than the other?

Which one would be the lowest amp rating that would not require a hefty switch to effectively disable? I was hoping to use a 16 amp switch i have on location 3, but have no idea if that is a good spot to do it..

The "From "IGN" Fuse (2-2)" is run off a 7.5 amp fuse, which seems to be actuated when the key is in the on position ( i think).

Last edited by mbomberz1; 07-12-2014 at 04:00 PM.
Old 07-12-2014, 06:17 PM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Position 3 involves the least current; just the draw of the relay coil, which is probably much less than 0.5 amps.

You are correct about the 7.5a IGN fuse; it is downstream of the ignition switch.
Old 07-12-2014, 07:35 PM

Can you think of any I'll effects caused by interrupting the efi relay at position 3? I hope the ecu would have no lasting impact if it were attempted to be started with that relay inoperable.. Any codes or damage possible?

Thanks for the quick reply scope!
Old 07-13-2014, 02:08 AM

Received 663 Likes on 455 Posts
Originally Posted by scope103
Position 3 involves the least current; just the draw of the relay coil, which is probably much less than 0.5 amps.

Concur.

Originally Posted by mbomberz1
Can you think of any I'll effects caused by interrupting the efi relay at position 3? I hope the ecu would have no lasting impact if it were attempted to be started with that relay inoperable.. Any codes or damage possible?
Final answer: point 3
No ill effect. That's the proper place for one of the many kill switches you can install.