Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

E-Locker motor voltage?

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2014, 09:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E-Locker motor voltage?

Does anyone know what voltage an e-locker is supposed to receive from the oem control module? I retrofitted an e-locker into my 86' 4runner and wired it using relays based on this write-up...

http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/electric_locker/

I used the relay method, but did not use the resistors. Prior to installing the relays I tested the e-locker (and used it a few times on the trail) using a drill battery. While setting up my relays I applied 12v power to the e-locker motor and got no response. The motor gets hot but makes absolutely no sound and I can't feel it doing anything. Did I fry my motor by sending 12v power to it? I'm a novice with electricity, I can setup relays and follow directions (or can I?) but don't understand all the fundamentals behind them. I read somewhere that the factory module steps the power down to 5v for the e-locker, but I only found that info in one place and now I can't find it.

I'll remove the motor and disassemble to confirm it's not just jammed, but I imagine I would hear it attempting to move if that were the case.

Thanks,

—Josh
Old 11-21-2014, 10:32 PM
Contributing Member

Received 178 Likes on 124 Posts
Welcome to YT!

I would say 12v...

What exactly do you mean tested on the trail? Like hot wired it? What size drill battery, 12v, 18v...?
Old 11-22-2014, 12:05 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

DC Motor it will take any system voltage the higher the voltage the faster it turns.

As the voltage drops it will of course get to the point it will no longer turn just like a starter.

Then if things are not lined up or any sort of mechanical failure.

Perhaps you have your relays wired wrong so your telling the motor to turn in both directions at once. Which would make it warm.