86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Degreasing tips please?

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2011, 01:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Degreasing tips please?

Hi, total noob here wondering if it is ok to get Gunk degreaser all over everything in the undercarriage! I suspected a main seal leak, so I shot a bunch over the tranny bell housing while I had the valve cover off...it worked great (and I MIGHT not have a main leak, but could've been coming from valve cover!!) - but now I want to degrease the U-joints, diffs, etc. P.O. apparently did not believe in cleanliness - everything down there is filthy and you can't really see to work on stuff. I am thinking of spraying the U's and whatnot, using a brass or other wire brush to remove the big stuff and wiping down the rest.

Is that safe? I'm not sure if there are rubber seals in the U's that could be damaged by a degreaser, or if it could pork random electrical connections....I do like what I am seeing re. the well-cleaned transmission - the thing looked like utter CRAP prior to cleaning it up, lol. Now I can watch it properly to see if I get the drip again or not.

Thanks!
Old 09-04-2011, 01:38 PM
Contributing Member

Welcome to YotaTech!!

You won't hurt anything; just don't spray it inside anything and watch out for breathers, etc...

On my '85 I soaked the entire undercarriage with Simple Green, let it sit for 10-15 minutes, hooked up the old Craftsman corded drill with a wire brush attachment and just went to town.

I would suggest wearing long sleeves, gloves (taped to the sleeves), full face shield and as much covering for your legs as you can handle in the heat/weather you're in.

Once it's done, take it to a car wash and give it a good blast underneath there with the wand and you should be good to go.

Before and after pics would be cool.

Good luck!

Fink
Old 09-04-2011, 01:52 PM