Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Deep cycle battery?

Old 12-29-2008, 07:52 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Deep cycle battery?

Quick dumb question, I have a deep cycle marine battery just taking up space in the garage, can I put it in my 92?
Old 12-29-2008, 08:01 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
I've been running a deep cycle marine battery for the last 4 or 5 years.
Old 12-29-2008, 08:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anything will fit if you have a big enough hammer.

My understanding:
Marine/RV/golf cart/etc batteries are not designed for starting -- i.e. supplying vast amounts of current for short periods of time. They are designed for providing lower amounts of current for more sustained periods and for being able to survive multiple experiences of near total discharge.
That's why in an RV you have two sets of different types of batteries.

Understanding that, you can start your truck with a marine battery, just don't expect it to last a long time or to provide a lot of starting current.
Old 12-29-2008, 10:49 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by mt_goat
I've been running a deep cycle marine battery for the last 4 or 5 years.
As a starting battery or as duals?
Old 12-29-2008, 11:03 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by Matt16
As a starting battery or as duals?
I only have one battery.
Old 12-29-2008, 11:20 AM

The odyssey batteries can function equally well in deep cycle and starting applications.
Old 12-29-2008, 11:26 AM

Originally Posted by NRandall
The odyssey batteries can function equally well in deep cycle and starting applications.
but....$$$$$$$$$$$
Old 12-29-2008, 11:45 AM

Originally Posted by Matt16
but....$$$$$$$$$$$
The best usually is. But they also last twice as long.
Old 12-30-2008, 08:04 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by NRandall
The best usually is. But they also last twice as long.
They'll last longer than that....