Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Dead Runner

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2015, 07:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Dead Runner

*****Yet another UPDATE*****
Yeah, that 15A EFI fuse can narrow it down. It must be a short somewhere. Check the O2 sensor dumba'Ass!!!
The O2 sensor wire was laying on the exhaust pipe just upstream of my Cat. It must have jarred loose and landed just perfectly on the hot pipe and sat there for a bit. It was wrapped in a heat resistant fabric and a plastic sheath but it toasted through that and exposed a wire. It was very obvious once I climbed under there. I will repair it at the end of the week. I have to work tommorow so... it's still 65 miles away. I'm an electronics tech and have no problems with electrical work. I can't imagine cutting the burnt section out and splicing the wire(s) will be too bad. The plugs seemed fine. I'll just insulate and prep for high heat and secure it somewhere out of the way. Should fix it... or at least fix this. These forums and threads are great... super crazy helpful. I appreciate every bodies input and help. I'll let you know what happens.
*****Update*****
So she is still down... but... she is back together from the timing belt disassembly... which is good.
What I have now found is that my 15 amp EFI FUSE is blowing. I bought some of those fuses that light up when they blow just to save time and it did.
My oil pressure dash guage is flat...
My temperature dash guage is also flat...
The cab electrical is working, clock,radio, interior lights, headlights
I have replaced the EFI relay.
I'm not sure why it's blowing and I don't know if I'm burning the relay as well?
I'm going to look at some if the threads on here about that fuse blowing.
But... now that I know it's not a $500 plus timing belt job at a shop I'll take it in... I think it's beyond my ability to fix without the proper tools and test equipment.