86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Code 31

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 05:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Code 31

So this is my first post at Yotatech, but I have been trolling for a couple months. So every once in a while, usually while sitting my engine light will come on and the truck will immediately run like crap (maybe 3 cylinders) after a while the cel will go away and the truck will be fine. It does not seem to matter if it is cold or warm out or if the truck is cold or has been driving for a few hours. As soon as the light comes on it runs bad. In the worst cases I have no power and have to pull over. At one point I decided to spray some seafoam through the intake and the problem went away for a couple months. When it started to come back I did it again and it got better but not as long. So now im at the point (14 months later) where cleaning the intake does not help and the light is comming on more and more. I have searched for the problem for a while but have not found a similar thread. At this point I am getting around 15mpg on the highway (truck is empty except for me) and I rarely drive over 54 in fifth(I used to get 18 combined and 280 to a tank with ~400pounds of stuff). My city mileage is way worse and it alwals feels like I have no power. If I baby it I can get ~240 miles to a tank. When sitting and running I can smell it burning rich, almost like pure gas sometimes, but only from the exhaust. Now every once in a while (very rare) all of a sudden it feels like all the power comes back but only for a few seconds. I am handy with a multimeter and have lots of tools.
The only code I get is 31 AFM.

91 22re 4wd 5spd 150k miles. I have been a member of mr2oc for 6 years and was sent here by one of their members, he told me this is an A class site and he was right. I will post a fix when this is all over!
Old 11-29-2009, 06:39 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts