Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

cant get head gasket to seal at timing chain cover

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2011, 10:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
cant get head gasket to seal at timing chain cover

I am having troubl getting my head gasket to seal between head and timing chain cover on a 86 22re,is there any tips for this procedure,i mean should i use any other kind of sealer along with the gasket? it doesnt leak oil on the corners but on the front on both sides of the penninsula and pooling on top of the water pump. Any ideas would be helpful as I am new to major repairs on engines.
Old 03-14-2011, 10:28 AM

me again

would a factory gasket make a big difference?
Old 03-14-2011, 10:37 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
you are supposed to use silicone on the front part of the cover, i have and it always seems to help.
Old 03-14-2011, 10:45 AM

where specifically

where do I apply sealant specifically on the timing chaim cover? also what kind of sealant and how much?
Old 03-14-2011, 02:16 PM

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
There's nothing you can really do to prevent this.
I just hasd to fix this myself, and the best method is to pull the head lol.
Old 03-14-2011, 03:41 PM

pull the head

I am going to pull the head(for the second time)but I want to make sure it gets done right this time so what do you think? Any preference on brand of gasket? Where and how much sillycone to use?Any thing you learned when you did yours that would be helpful?
Old 03-14-2011, 03:54 PM

Get yourself an fsm! Google "ttora fsm" that will help, they have one for an 88 that will work. It details the tear down and re installation including where to place sealant. Toyota oem gaskets are widely recognized as the best quality hg.
Old 03-14-2011, 04:01 PM

Received 69 Likes on 48 Posts