can you say 'DUMBASS!' ? i broke my speedo cable - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   > >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

can you say 'DUMBASS!' ? i broke my speedo cable

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-23-2008, 07:20 AM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
can you say 'DUMBASS!' ? i broke my speedo cable

ok, so i decided to drill my speedo cable to fix my mileage from 155,000 to 260,000 miles, and the first drill i used (a dewalt 12V) only got the speedo up to 25mph, and that would take days and days and days. so i got out my corded drill and hooked it up. got the speedo past 110mph. so i kept goin, but was at a weird angle. i noticed the cable housing had stopped moving. so i checked it. the tip of the speedo cable had broken clean off! i wanted to slap myself. so i went out there with my matco wire strippers to try to fix it. the cable inside went BACK inside! and i have no needle nose pliers here. id say im screwed until payday, when i can get another cable. what would you guys say? (DUMBASS!, i know!)
who knows, maybe this will make someones day better with a good laugh.. lol.
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:28 AM   #2
Registered User
 
littlecommando's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 790
well, if you get pulled over you can say that you dont know how fast you were going...
why were you changing the millage?
littlecommando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:29 AM   #3
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
cuz i like my stuff being CORRECT. i was over 100,000 miles LOWER than the actual mileage. i can just keep up with traffic, for now.
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:44 AM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
ouch... cant find a speedometer cable at any parts stores... any idea what the part number is for the speedo cable? i may just have to go to the junkyard for one...
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:47 AM   #5
Contributing Member
 
mt_goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma State
Posts: 10,664
Interesting, at 110 mph it would have taken over 900 hours of drilling to get to 100,000 miles. That's over 38 days/ 24 hours a day.
mt_goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:53 AM   #6
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
it was goin FASTER than 110... lol. but point taken. is there any way i can pull the rest of the cable out, and solder it back to the needle so ill have a working speedo until i find the cable?
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:01 AM   #7
Contributing Member
 
mt_goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma State
Posts: 10,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziesironmanoffroad View Post
it was goin FASTER than 110... lol. but point taken. is there any way i can pull the rest of the cable out, and solder it back to the needle so ill have a working speedo until i find the cable?

Oh faster...ok LOL.

I did notice while I had my engine out that it looked like it would be a real PITA to change the speedo cable housing with the engine and tranny in place. It runs under the fire proofing on the fire wall and is held in place by metal clips. I don't know if the cable can be replaced without the housing or not. Hopefully it can be.
mt_goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:08 AM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
i dunno... i did it when i flipped my truck. i should be able to do it again. if not... how would i fix it? aftermarket speedometer?
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:22 AM   #9
Contributing Member
 
mt_goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma State
Posts: 10,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziesironmanoffroad View Post
i dunno... i did it when i flipped my truck. i should be able to do it again. if not... how would i fix it? aftermarket speedometer?
Oh you have a 22re don't you. Maybe it would be easier for you, my V6 had the exhaust crossover back there in the way.
mt_goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:22 AM   #10
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
yeah i have the 22re, though i have been considering a set of aftermarket gauges to replace the gauge cluster.
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:32 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: boone, nc
Posts: 65
ozziesironmanoffroad let us know if you find some good gauges. My speedo and odometer dont work either so i need some
92yotaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:35 AM   #12
Registered User
 
RobD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,243
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/89-95...mZ310085813496
RobD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:41 AM   #13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
will that work for a 88? also, i have a plan for the aftermarket gauge cluster. im in the process of drawing it up now, but will post it up when it is completed.
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:03 AM   #14
Registered User
 
littlecommando's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 790
you should have simply fliped it over the other way to fix the millage
littlecommando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:11 AM   #15
Banned
iTrader: (-1)
 
waskillywabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 0
I can say it...but I'll only think it.

waskillywabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:14 AM   #16
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlecommando View Post
you should have simply fliped it over the other way to fix the millage
huh? i dont get what you mean
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:17 AM   #17
Registered User
 
Matt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlecommando View Post
well, if you get pulled over you can say that you dont know how fast you were going...
why were you changing the millage?
Read the post, and thou shalt discover!
Matt16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:19 AM   #18
Registered User
 
Matt16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt_goat View Post
Interesting, at 110 miles per hour it would have taken over 900 hours of drilling to get to 100,000 miles. That's over 38 days/ 24 hours a day.
LOL

I think a better way would be to open up the instrument panel and roll it FORWARD by hand. That's gotta be on the web somewhere. Just document it photographically so you have proof that you didn't roll it back.
Matt16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:21 AM   #19
Registered User
 
RobD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziesironmanoffroad View Post
will that work for a 88? also, i have a plan for the aftermarket gauge cluster. im in the process of drawing it up now, but will post it up when it is completed.
Ooops, sorry. I was just excited that I found one for a 22RE. I couldn't tell you if it would work with your 88. I would guess no, but that is only a guess. You'd have to ask another 22RE owner from that same era.
RobD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 10:01 AM   #20
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 5,996
ok, so i just finished a rough picture of the custom gauge im wanting to build. tell me what you all think.
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crankshaft Pulley Bolt Removal Problem Obmi 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 51 10-04-2015 11:30 AM
mystery leak yay puddlepirate 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 4 09-29-2015 08:02 PM
Advice on a possibly bad 2TR-FE and shady dealer. charlie_fong General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) 0 09-27-2015 10:06 PM
98 Toyota 4runner problems Rcbc92 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 5 09-26-2015 03:00 PM
How necessary is the bvsv? mtrdrms 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 09-26-2015 07:12 AM


Tags
4runner, 88, ass, cable, drill, dumb, guys, hook, sale, speedo, speedocable, speedometer, toyota, work, yotatech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:47 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.