86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Buying an 89-95 what to watch for?

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2014, 10:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buying an 89-95 what to watch for?

My first vehicle was an 84 Pickup SFA EFI until I graduated to a 96 Tacoma Xtracab. Had another kid and moved on to a 2003 DoubleCab which I still drive today, just rolled over 225k and hope to drive it another 200k!

This is my first post but have used this site many times over the years for tech info. My son just turned 16 and I've been searching a few months for something in the $4k range but am not having much luck. I'm leary of these higher mileage trucks mostly due to the timing chain guide issue. On my 84 I had a bad oil pan leak and when I removed the pan I was horrified to find the plastic timing chain guides broken and floating around down there. Needless to say it took me about a month to replace the timing chain and honestly I have been hesitant to buy another 22re engine since.

I'd really like to get him a Toyota because I know he is going to beat on it and I really don't want something I have to work on all the time. Anyone else notice many of these models for sale stating "timing chain just replaced"? Anything else to watch for?
Old 12-29-2014, 01:06 PM

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts