Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Brake issue Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2015, 07:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake issue Help

OK I'm new to Toyotas but always wanted an older Toyota so I recently found a clean 87 Toyota pickup with a 22r 5spd 4x4. It had no brakes and the previous owner puton a new master cylinder (mc) but didn't bench bleed it. So I tired bleeding it on the truck got good clean clear fluid no air and then bleed the rest of the system going from the DSR to PSR to PSF to DSF back to the LSPV got good clean fluid and did that until no more air and I used a vaccum bleeder tried to use the brakes still nothing ck for leaks all lines are good. I can pump the pedal about 15-20 times and start building pressure but then I loose pressure and pedal goes to the floor if I build pressure then start the truck the pedal goes to the floor and won't build any pressure I'm thinking it's the mc but not sure any help is appreciated thank you
Old 08-27-2015, 07:54 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Sounds like your still getting air in the lines.

Then the rear brakes could be so far out of adjustment along with the getting air in.

Your not far away if your really stuck I don`t mind helping.

Sometimes people get the calipers on upside down making it impossible to bleed

Bleeder valves do go bad and allow air in.

Last edited by wyoming9; 08-27-2015 at 07:56 AM.
Old 08-28-2015, 03:58 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post