Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Boiling Coolant but not overheating?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2012, 10:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Boiling Coolant but not overheating?

Hi All, I've been lurking around trying to find an answer to this problem. Decided I'd ask for some help. I'm a newbie to car mechanics, but trying to learn. I recently bought a 1990 22re. The truck started overheating shortly after I bought it.

I replaced the thermostat and leaky radiator, figuring it was probably a stuck thermostat. Then I noticed that coolant was leaking out of the cap on the new radiator, so replaced that too. The truck heats up in a few minutes to just below half way on the temp gauge now, but when I turn it off and listen to the radiator, I hear a gurgling sound. Also, I occasionally catch a whiff of coolant from inside the vehicle when I'm driving it.

Just to be safe, I ran a block test on it. Did not find combustion products in the radiator.. so I think it's not related to a HG leak.. also when I start it with the radiator cap off, the coolant floods out the neck of the radiator, but there are no bubbles present.

Also I read that a broken timing chain tensioner can cause the engine to heat up quickly. The engine makes a ticking noise anyway, so I figured I should pull off the valve cover and check that as well. Some grime underneath the valve cover, but otherwise the plastic tensioners were still in-tact and the chain was not loose.

So I'm thinking the engine is OK mechanically, but I still don't know what to do about the gurgling sound. Could this be related to a "burping" problem? I'm stuck on what to check next.
Old 08-11-2012, 11:16 AM