Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Bad diff from Marlin?

Old 08-03-2012, 04:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad diff from Marlin?

Hey guys, just installed my new diff that I got from Marlin. Its an 8" diff with 5.29's and a Grizzly locker that I'm running in the back of my 4runner. It seems to me like there is way too much play in the diff, about 1/4 turn of the pinion back and forth without turning the ring gear. Took it on the road and when I let off the gas it howls. I'm pretty disappointed because its a brand new differential and Marlin has such a good reputation.

Would this be caused by a bad gear pattern? Backlash? I know enough to make good conversation but I'm no expert at setting up a diff.

I'm not exactly sure what I want to do about this yet... but I'm sure I will be calling Marlin next week. Just thought I'd fill you guys in on my experience. I'm still very confident that Marlin has good stuff, I've purchased another diff from them before and I'm very happy with it, just a little bummed about the situation especially since I'm trying to get my 4runner back on the road in a hurry.
Old 08-03-2012, 05:26 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
call marlin...they'll straighten in out.
Old 08-03-2012, 05:57 PM
Fossilized
Staff

Received 448 Likes on 293 Posts
First step should have been to contact Marlin customer service they are open mon-thur
they do have a customer service forum:
http://board.marlincrawler.com/index.php?board=63.0
Old 08-03-2012, 10:23 PM

my trailgear 3rd has always done this, ive never had a problem with it except for the howling.....
Old 08-03-2012, 11:54 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts