86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Another 3vze problem thread

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2007, 06:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another 3vze problem thread

Hi there all. I'm not new to Toyotas but I am new to this 3vze. Its a 92 xtra cab 4x4 5 speed V6. I just did a headgasket swap on it and its at 242k miles but it looked good inside so compression is not a problem. What seems to be happening is when I get on it its slower to get up to speed and when doing 55 mph or around there and in 4th it will not pull at all and even has a hard time keeping to that speed. And in 3rd when I reach the 2800 where these things usually start to really pull at it just keeps going like usual no pull like it should have in any gear. It seems like once I get to a certain RPM where it should pull it falls on its face. It kind of tries then decides its a bad idea. The temperature thing behind the intake that has 2 vaccum lines to it is busted and the line is just run direct to the place it goes to. This should not affect the motor once it is warmed up. The V6 is only going to be in it for a month but for the month I have it I want it to be able to at least do as good as my 22R in my 82. Its got 4.30 gears and 235s on it so gearing isnt the problem. Anyways I'm sure someone has had a problem similar to me before and I have done some reading and have lurked around this and other boards for a while and cant remember anything just like this. Thanks for any help.
Old 07-04-2007, 08:27 PM
Contributing Member

Location: Where it always works if you work it, in Sunny Selinsgrove, PA
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by 82yota